Cheese in the Trap

Just from the first episode alone, this show had already found it’s way into the deepest part of my heart and is trapped there (see what I did there?). Anyway, I’m really liking this shows so far and I mean really loving it.

I never actually read the webtoon so I started watching it having no idea who was who and what was happening. Also, I remember there being a lot of buzz about this show long before the premiere which was one of the reasons I felt a bit skeptical about the drama because almost every drama that started with a buzz…flopped. It’s like a curse – the more you talk about it, the worse it becomes. Okay before I go all conspiracy theory all on your asses, I’ll get down to the real business.

First of all, I want to talk about the characters – before I go on, I’d like to take this opportunity to say what a fine job they are all doing, kudos to each and every one of them. So, first we have Park Hae Jin who slayed his role to the point I want to enter my screen and pat him on the back (and a kiss, I suppose – I mean, I’m already in the screen…I might as well). I’m guessing the main focus of his role is facial expressions and he has done that very well. I mean, I always pause a scene when he’s either said or done something to dwell on it. Like what is he thinking? Is he serious? And it doesn’t help that the female lead is also paranoid about him too which doesn’t help my case so I always feel like he’s up to something but then he does something completely random or nice and I’m like hmmm…I don’t know.

Imagine if you were the female lead and with everything going on he offers to help you or gets you coffee, ha, I’d be a hundred percent sure that the drink was either spiked or filled with acid. Another thing that really grinds my gears, yeah grinds my gears is his staring. It’s so intense that I’m pretty sure the viewers feel it.

& Like why does he keep staring. I don’t know about the webtoon but it’s weird how he keeps lurking around her when they’ve only just met. You’d think something happened in the past or they knew each other when they were kids or something – oh, who knows…who knows, I may be onto something here. Anyway, the male lead a.k.a. Yoo Jung is rich and is supposed to take over daddy’s company at some point and he apparently has everyone wrapped around his finger except for her of course. It’s just that smirk and random change in facial expression that gets to me. No one ever sees it. We have a great manipulator over here.

I won’t even get started on the fact he changed his class to be in the same class with her and not that the class is a better class but a worse one. This drama is so relatable in the sense that it reminds me of a time when I was dealing with the American school system. Ugh, those days where you’d have to wait for a certain time before you can register for classes and of course, there’s always that one teacher EVERYONE either wants to avoid or be in his/her class, always. It’s like a world war during that time that the server clashes and you start thinking of your life. Oh my , what if i end up in Mr Smith’s class, I’m so going to fail or I need to be in Mr Smith’s class because there’s rarely courseworks and unnecessary tests so that’s an easy A. But when you finally get the class of your dreams and you think it ends there then another important or more important class clashes with that favourite class of yours. What are you going to do then?

So you can imagine my surprise when he showed up in that witch’s class because he thought it would be fun. Okay, whatever. I don’t know what you’re up to but know that I’m onto you Yoo Jung.

Then our beloved female lead Seol. I like how he calls her Seol all the time like the way a ghost would sound – not that I would know how a ghost would sound. Right from the start you know she just wants to do her shit and get the hell out of there but with her being Mr. Evil being everywhere, nothing seems normal anymore. Like put yourself in her shoes, imagine a hot guy at your school keeps bothering you for no apparent reason and at the same time you notice there’s something off about him, wouldn’t you as a sane person want to stay away from him. Yeah, I know he’s hot and I can’t blame you. But really, hes like all up in her face all the time and no regard for her personal space or time and honestly if I were her, I would definitely not mind, not at all.

<– acting like he doesn’t know what he’s doing. Yeah, right.

And more importantly, what is his obsession with wanting to eat with her? He’s asked her to lunch like a million times and she always says no and you’ll think he’ll get the hint and take a hike but no. I’ll try again tomorrow. Now, the thing is I don’t want to go ahead and say he already likes her and not just because it’s on the second episode because it started out all weird so I don’t want to rush things and speculate because I already get this weird feeling from him. Like remember that drunk guy scene when Nam Joo Yeon told him that she was most likely in danger and he just shrugged it off? I actually thought he would run off to help but he put on his dark look and said she would be okay so I’m confused. Like what do you want???

And honestly, I was one of those people who thought he had a hand in changing her schedule but alas, he wasn’t and he went through to find out the culprit was. At the ending of the second episode, he did point out that she was like the rest who approached him for a reason which got me thinking that he approached her first not the other way round but I guess he meant when she asked him out to lunch. I became more curious when he didn’t like the fact that she went on a date with someone else.

I’m really looking forward to future episodes. I’ll probably post more about the other characters in the next post because I still have a lot to say about this. I’d love to hear other opinions on his character.

P.S. LOL at the date scene where Seol’s date was as ridiculous as anyone could ever be even up to the point of faking sophistication and getting the piece that was playing wrong only for it to be pointed out to him. I’d also like to point out that Kim Go Eun was a very good choice in the cast selection as compared to Suzy because I imagined her playing this role and it didn’t really do it for me. As for Park Hae Jin as Yoo Jung, they couldn’t be more right.

tumblr_o0izfhyb3z1r5c02zo1_400

credits: all images and gifs used in this post go to their respective owners.

3 thoughts on “Cheese in the Trap

  1. amandasushma says:

    Love your review! Just saw the first two episodes and I’m obsessed! I love what you captioned the gif of him leaning over her to help with the laptop. He totally knew what he was doing! Lol, can’t wait to see more!

    Like

    • Love says:

      Thanks for reading. And yes, this drama is very addictive and I really want to get into his head. Looking forward to future episodes. =)

      Like

Leave a Reply

